About Us

IDEA Committee

Our group is made up of librarians throughout the state of Georgia who are committed to making libraries more welcoming spaces for patrons and staff. Our members are front line staff, managers, assistant directors, and librarians who are passionate about providing equitable library services for our communities. The committee will explore methods and help develop resources that will allow Georgia Public Library Service to take a multifaceted approach. This may include elevating successful libraries as models to generate and share best practices; identifying ways Georgia Public Library Service might influence inclusion and accessibility within public libraries; and helping libraries serve a variety of diverse communities through programming, outreach and training.

IDEA Committee Members:

  • Deborah Jackson, Chair. Cobb County Public Library

  • Stephanie Galipeau, Co-Chair. Fulton County Library System

  • Gina Martin. Georgia Public Library Service

  • Alan Harkness. Chattahoochee Valley Libraries

  • Carolyn Bean. Fulton County Library System

  • Denita Thomas. Middle Georgia Regional Library

  • Gail T. Evans. Dougherty County Public Library

  • Mamie Fike Mills. Athens-Clarke County Library

  • Micah Gross. Cobb County Public Library


This committee will develop a strategic and coordinated approach related to issues of inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility with the goal of making libraries welcoming spaces for customers as well as staff.

  • We will explore methods and develop resources that will allow GPLS to take a multifaceted approach, including policy development, training and an IDEA Summit.

  • We will initiate training programs on inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility.

  • We will coordinate work with external IDEA experts, such as the USG Center for Diversity & Inclusion, the Georgia Center for Diversity, and national organizations like the Government Alliance on Race and Equity and the National Institute of Health.